Skip to Page Content

Event Details

    Wage and Hour - Essential Workers - Essential Protection Presentation

    Date: May 11, 2021, 10:00am – 11:30am
    HR Virginia
    Microsoft Teams Meeting
    Event Type:
    iCal link
    Add to Calendar

    We encourage you to send any questions you may already have about minimum wage, overtime calculations, bonus payments, etc. and/or submit your questions during the presentation through Chat.   


    Tuesday, May 11, 2021     10:00 am – 11:30 pm

    1.5 hours - (Join the Microsoft Teams meeting below)

    Wage and Hour - Essential Workers - Essential Protection Presentation

    Description:  Discussion regarding Wage & Hour and the enforcement of the nation’s most comprehensive federal labor laws:  Minimum Wage (MW), overtime pay, recordkeeping, child labor and special employment, family and medical leave, migrant workers, lie detector tests, worker protections in certain temporary worker programs, and the prevailing wages for government service and construction contracts. Presentation will spend a large portion of time discussing minimum wage.  (Please see attachments)


    Note:  Although this is a federal presentation, discussion will address issues where the new Virginia state minimum wage may impact the current federal regulations, and vice versa.  A different minimum wage from the federal minimum wage is new for Virginia, and there are areas of both laws HR professional need to be aware to ensure compliance


    MW Update – Virginia MW Increase Effective 05/01/21; In short, The General Assembly of Virginia has passed legislation to raise the minimum wage in stages to arrive at $15.00 an hour by 2026. Once the General Assembly passes Governor Ralph Northam’s amendments (pushing back the original enactment date), employers must start increasing employees’ minimum wages beginning May 1, 2021.  Under the new law (amending Virginia Code §§ 40.1-28.9 and 40.1-28.10), the hourly minimum wage will increase as follows :

    1. $9.50 effective May 1, 2021;  $11.00 effective January 1, 2022;  $12.00 effective January 1, 2023;
    2. $13.50 effective January 1, 2025; And $15.00 effective January 1, 2026.

    OT Update – Virginia Effective 07/01/21; Beginning July 1, 2021, Virginia employers will be subject to new state overtime pay requirements. Virginia Governor Ralph Northam signed into law the Virginia Overtime Wage Act on March 31, 2021. Previously, Virginia had been content to rely on the overtime pay requirements of the federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA).


    Microsoft Teams meeting:  Wage & Hour – Essential Workers/Essential Protection

    Join on your computer or mobile app

    Click here to join the meeting